Lay Off Mel Gibson

July 31, 2006

It should come as no surprise that Dan, of Riehl World View, has it right with regard to the Mad Mel Gibson. In I Wouldn’t Label Mel Gibson Anti Semitic, Dan notes of Mad Max that

The man was raised by a Holocaust denying and, presumably, anti-Semitic Father. That’s extreme, but none of us were raised by saints. He also recently experienced a great deal of criticism from the Jewish community because of the previously mentioned film.

I’m not suggesting the man isn’t conflicted, or wasn’t given a rather vigorous seeding of anti-semitism as a child and even a young man. But we all have our demons. I grew up in a neighborhood where blacks were niggers and Jews were … Jews, spoken in a rather disparaging way.

See Dan’s take for some Riehl common sense.

14 Responses to “Lay Off Mel Gibson”

  1. mango Says:

    Now you’re just fucking with me, right?

  2. SC&A Says:

    Yeah, I live to do just that.

    In fact, I’m serious.

  3. mango Says:

    Admittedly, I’m not an expert on the role that upbringing has on adult behavior. I leave that to the paid professionals.

    But, what’s the difference between Mel Gibson spouting off derogatory comments about Jews because his father was an anti-Semite and someone who beats his wife because he saw his father beat his mother as a child?

    Or an alcoholic that is given a free pass because his parent was an alcoholic.

    Or, well, there are a lot of examples.

    The examples aren’t the point.

    The point IS:

    At some point in your adult life, I don’t know when that is… 18, 25, 30… whatever, you need to have responsibility for your own actions.

    Granted the impetus for horrible things may lie in your soul from genetics or upbringing.

    But, at some point. Some point down the line, you need to take stock in yourself. Stop blaming other people for what you are. Stop using your bad lot in life as a crutch.

    He is old enough to know better.

    He is old enough to know right from wrong.

    He is old enough to know that his father was wrong.

  4. mango Says:

    For the record, sometimes i think you DO get a rise out of fucking with me.

    If I were paranoid, I’d swear you were doing it on purpose.

  5. SC&A Says:

    He was DRUNK. He was NOT in control of his faculties.

    There are plenty of things I’d like to take bad that were said in anger- and I was sober.

    He may be an ass for getting drunk…but that said, there were a few remarks in college I made, under the influence…

  6. mango Says:

    Any chance his dad was an alcoholic?

  7. SC&A Says:

    Blamer your mother.

    She told us what you said that night you were plastered- yeah, THAT night…

    I don’t know if his dad was an alky or not. What is clear is that the old man was a whack job.

  8. mango Says:

    What’s the over/under on how many drinks it would take Mel to deny the Holocaust happened?

  9. SC&A Says:

    Same number it would take for me to agree the designated hitter rule is a good idea.

  10. mango Says:

    I like Big Papi.

    It pains me as a Yankee fan to say that.

  11. SC&A Says:

    Karma- you get what you deserve, in the end

  12. mango Says:

    Yes, 26 world championships.

    And counting.

  13. Bilgeman Says:

    The both of youse;

    “He was DRUNK. He was NOT in control of his faculties.

    There are plenty of things I’d like to take bad that were said in anger- and I was sober.

    He may be an ass for getting drunk…but that said, there were a few remarks in college I made, under the influence”

    That’s why we invented the punch in the mouth.

    Mel gets in his cups and spouts off about Jooooos….
    Officer Epstein lets Mel taste his fist.

    Everybody has a right to be an asshole for 15 minutes a week, they should also have the responsibility of dealing with the shitstorm they cause.

    Simple justice, simply administered.
    Everyone sobers up, calms down, makes and accepts apologies, and shakes hands.

    Regards;

  14. SC&A Says:

    I couldn’t agree more.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

