Why People Move South

February 27, 2008

6 Responses to “Why People Move South”


  1. Gentlemen:

    I’m a fifth generation Texan.

    After veiwing these clips, I’m a wreck.

    Happy thawing,
    LK

  2. Tom Accuosti Says:

    I’m a third generation New Englander, and I’m always amazed at how so many people forget how to drive in the winter. I mean, every friggin’ year it snows, it gets icy and slippery, and yet people who have lived all of their lives here still forget that cars do not stop on the ice.

    Worse are the morons in the SUVs who can’t seem to remember that while 4WD allows you to go faster in the snow, you can’t stop any faster.


  3. sad, but hilarious

  4. anniebird Says:

    The guy bailing out of the sliding car in the first clip made me laugh hard enough to cry….hilarious!

  5. Ken Says:

    I’m a third generation New Englander, and I’m always amazed at how so many people forget how to drive in the winter. — Tom Accuosti

    I’ve lived in Southern California for over 50 years, and it’s no better out here. (Don’t laugh, “Mark In Irvine”, I work next to the El Toro Wye, and you’re part of the problem, too.) You see, what you call “winter” is actually a rainy season in SoCal; all the rain of the year gets concentrated in those three months with the rest of the year being completely dry.

    So, when the rainy season starts, we have the same demolition derby you get when the snows hit. I’ve seen my commute go from 40 minutes to three hours dodging wrecks and the resulting clogs on freeways AND surface-street alternate routes in the first storm of the season. Two main reactions when our winter storms hit:

    1) Barrel on like the road was clear, clean, and dry until you ram something.
    2) Get paranoid and slow down to 10 in the fast lane until you get rammed by (1) above.

    And driving-by-celtel compounds both of them.


  6. [...] a snow mist on top of it. I will trade our 3 or 4 bad DAYS a year to 3 to 4 bad MONTHS up north. SC&A’s post here Swap This These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new [...]


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

